2nd International Workshop on Non-Orthogonal Multiple Access Techniques for 5G

Workshop Organizers

Mojtaba Vaezi 

Mojtaba Vaezi is an Associate Research Scholar in the Department of Electrical Engineering at Princeton University. He received his Ph.D. from the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, McGill University, Montreal, Canada, in 2014. From 2014 to 2015 he was a researcher at Ericsson Research, Canada. He has served as the president of the McGill IEEE Student Branch in 2012-2014. His research interests lie at the intersection of signal processing, communications, and information theory. Dr. Vaezi is a recipient of a number of research, academic and leadership awards, including the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) Postdoctoral Fellowship in 2014, McGill Engineering Doctoral Award (MEDA) 2009-2012, and IEEE Larry K. Wilson Regional Student Activities Award in 2013. He is an Associate Technical Editor for IEEE Communications Magazine. He was/is the TPC member for the IEEE WCNC’16, ICC’16 and ’17, Globecom’16 and ’17, and a TPC co-chair of NOMA workshop at VTC-Spring’17 and Globecom’17.

Zhiguo Ding 

Zhiguo Ding received his B.Eng. in Electrical Engineering from the Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications in 2000, and the Ph.D. degree in Electrical Engineering from Imperial College London in 2005. From Jul. 2005 to Aug. 2014, he was working in Queen’s University Belfast, Imperial College and Newcastle University. Since Sept. 2014, he has been with Lancaster University as a Chair Professor in Signal Processing. From Sept. 2012 to Sept. 2016, he has also been an academic visitor in Princeton University. Dr. Ding’s research interests are 5G networks, game theory, cooperative and energy harvesting networks and statistical signal processing. He is serving as an Editor for IEEE Transactions on Communications, IEEE Transactions on Vehicular Technology, IEEE Wireless Communication Letters, IEEE Communication Letters, and Journal of Wireless Communications and Mobile Computing. He received the best paper award in IET Comm. Conf. on Wireless, Mobile and Computing, 2009 and the WCSP 2015, IEEE Communication Letter Exemplary Reviewer 2012, and the EU Marie Curie Fellowship 2012-2014.

H. Vincent Poor 

H. Vincent Poor received the Ph.D. degree in EECS from Princeton University in 1977. From 1977 until 1990, he was on the faculty of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Since 1990 he has been on the faculty at Princeton, where he is the Michael Henry Strater University Professor of Electrical Engineering. Dr. Poor’s research interests are in the areas of statistical signal processing, stochastic analysis and information theory, and their applications in wireless networks and related fields. Among his publications in these areas is the recent book Mechanisms and Games for Dynamic Spectrum Allocation (Cambridge University Press, 2014). Dr. Poor is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Sciences, and a foreign member of Academia European and the Royal Society. He is also a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Inventors, and of other national and international academies. He received the Marconi and Armstrong Awards of the IEEE Communication Society in 2007 and 2009, respectively. Recent recognition of his work includes the 2014 URSI Booker Gold Medal, the 2015 EURASIP Athanasios Papoulis Award, the 2016 John Fritz Medal, and honorary doctorates from Aalborg University, Aalto University, HKUST and the University of Edinburgh.

Robert Schober 

Robert Schober received the Diplom (Univ.) and the Ph.D. degrees in electrical engineering from the University of Erlangen-Nuermberg in 1997 and 2000, respectively. Since May 2002 he has been with the University of British Columbia (UBC), Vancouver, Canada, where he is now a Full Professor. Since January 2012 he is an Alexander von Humboldt Professor and the Chair for Digital Communication at the Friedrich Alexander University (FAU), Erlangen, Germany. His research interests fall into the broad areas of Communication Theory, Wireless Communications, and Statistical Signal Processing. Dr. Schober received several awards for his work including the 2002 Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Award of the German Science Foundation (DFG), the 2004 Innovations Award of the Vodafone Foundation for Research in Mobile Communications, the 2006 UBC Killam Research Prize, the 2007 Wilhelm Friedrich Bessel Research Award of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, the 2008 Charles McDowell Award for Excellence in Research from UBC, a 2011 Alexander von Humboldt Professorship, and a 2012 NSERC E.W.R. Steacie Fellowship. From 2012 to 2015, he served as Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Communications.

Octavia A. Dobre 

Octavia A. Dobre is a Full Professor and a Research Chair at Memorial University, Canada. Dr. Dobre co-authored over 190 journal and conference papers and gave over 40 invited and keynote talks to industry and academia. Her research interests include 5G technologies, cognitive radio systems, transceiver optimization algorithms for wireless communications, and optical and underwater communications. Her research has been supported by the NSERC, Canada, Mathematics of Information Technology and Complex Systems, Canada Foundation for Innovation, etc. Dr. Dobre is a member of the IEEE Instrumentation and Measurement Society Administrative Committee. She serves as the Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Communications Letters and an Editor of the IEEE Communications Surveys And Tutorials. She was an Editor and a Senior Editor of the IEEE Communications Letters, an Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications, and a Guest Editor for other prestigious journals.

George K. Karagiannidis 

George K. Karagiannidis is a full Professor at Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece. He is also an Honorary Professor with South West Jiaotong University, Chengdu, China. His research interests are in the broad area of digital communications systems with emphasis on wireless communications, optical wireless communications, wireless power transfer and applications and molecular communications. He has authored or co-authored over 400 technical papers published in scientific journals and presented at international conferences. He is the co-author of the book Advanced Optical Wireless Communications Systems (Cambridge Publications, 2012). He was an Editor of the IEEE Transactions On Communications, and a Guest Editor of the IEEE Journal Selected Areas In Communications. From 2012 to 2015, he was the Editor-in Chief of the IEEE Communications Letters. Dr. Karagiannidis has been selected as a 2015 and 2016 Thomson Reuters Highly Cited Researcher.